Baltimore Comic-Con, a look back

First, I’d like to apologize for my laziness. Secondly, I’d like to share with you my look back on the Baltimore Comic Con this year.

Just this last Saturday the hubby and I went to our first comic-con. Located in Baltimore, I thought since it wasn’t San Diego that the crowds would be minimal and what we found there would be sub par. I really am a cup half empty kind of person.

Our day didn’t have a very promising start, beginning with forgetting our tickets after we had already left and winding down with a small argument in the parking garage. I know that I’m not the easiest person to live with.

Thankfully, after a simple drive into the city I was pleasantly surprised by what we were about to see. The line wound around corners, but moved faster than we thought it would. Being much taller than me, my husband was pointing out fabulous costume after fabulous costume while we waited. There was a superb Shazam and a magnificent Hawk Girl with great gray wings that kind of hindered her inside.

Soon, we were released into the main room. The labyrinth between stands was still nearly empty and we had the run of the place for the first twenty minutes. Everywhere we turned was fabulous art and boxes upon boxes of comics. Honestly, I wasn’t really there for the comics. I had a pretty reliable comic book store that I can peruse on the weekends. No, I was excited about the artists.

The Hubby, on the other hand, was excited about something very different. Marked clearly on the map with a Wookie was Peter Mayhew. He played Chewbacca in the original Star Wars Trilogy and will be playing him in the upcoming films. My man absolutely adores his Star Wars and once he got up to the big man himself, he was speechless for once. All he could manage was a comment about the sheer size of Mayhew’s hands.

We left, a big smile on his face and an autographed photo in hand. From there, we meandered around the labyrinth of shops and artists. Right away, I managed to find the stand where Missy Pena was doing original covers for the Bee and Puppycat comics. While I wait impatiently for the release of more Bee and Puppycat cartoons, I bought several of the comics, including one with a paper doll cut out. I love paper dolls.

There was so much more going on that we didn’t get a chance to see. Cliff Chiang, artist of the new 52 Wonder Woman, was there and while his booth was empty I was a total chicken and couldn’t get myself to approach him. Something that I totally regret now. On the other hand was the outrageous line leading up to Greg Capullo, the artist for the new 52 Batman. The hubby and I both admire him, but we couldn’t get ourselves to stand in the winding line.

I had planned on attending a few panels as well, but since we didn’t know quite where they were being held we passed up on them. We definitely weren’t prepared for everything that our first comic-con had in store for us. Hopefully, next year when it rolls around we will be able to soak up everything good that it has to offer. The hubby also mentioned that he’d like to cosplay next time.

Of the things I brought back that I totally adore are the Bonnie N. Collide comics by Monica Gallagher. They’re similar to the comic strips you would find in the newspaper as a child, but you wouldn’t find Bonnie in your paper. She’s a roller derby girl with a day job. It took me all of twenty minutes to eagerly devour all three comic books. I was left with a need for more.

We came home with bags of treasures. I had the Totoro plushie that I’d been adamant on getting and the hubby got a poro plushie to cheer him on during League of Legends games.

 

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

Leave a Reply

