Living the Cat Life

Deceptively adorable, isn't he?
Deceptively adorable, isn’t he?

You know those comics you see on the internet, depicting life with a cat. They’re true.

The dog that we had is now living with my parents, enjoying the wide open spaces and freedom that he didn’t have here. The weekend that he left for my parents house, my husband dragged me out to the Pet Smart. We hovered around the cat adoption center for a while, playing with each of them behind the scenes. There was a tiny calico kitten. There was a big, gray female cat whose owner had passed.

Then there was a small black and white male cat who batted at the bars of his cage for the lanyard my husband was jiggling. When I picked him up, he rubbed his face against mine and batted at the lanyard my husband raised. He came home with us that night.

He mewed in his carrier the entire way home. Obviously, he doesn’t like my driving anymore than my husband does. It’s been a few weeks now and I’m learning that this is a cat like none I’d had before. Living in farm country, we’d adopted strays before and taken in cats from relatives, but each of them were aloof and big on sleep.

Hex, our new cat even though we call him Kitty more than anything, is nothing like these cats. He constantly wants to play, dragging his mouse on a stick around the house until we pick it up and wave it around. The moment you’re not paying attention to him is when he’s on top of the fridge or perched on my towering bookcase. He attacks my toes when I’m not looking and my legs when I’m wearing fleece pajama pants. He has a fascination with toilets and should have been named shredder for what he does to our toilet paper.

But he is the biggest lover I’ve ever seen. We left for Labor Day weekend, spending time with our distant family. His little face in the window beside the door made me pout as we backed out of the drive way. I worried the entire time that something horrible would go wrong while he was home alone. Instead, he snuggled up to me while I lay on the couch, purring like a machine.  He paws gently at me or my husband for love and throws himself at your open hand.

While he doesn’t quite fill the empty space for my husband, the Hex fills me with a sense of love that I’d forgotten since my chocolate lab passed away. I’m definitely living the cat life and despite all of his pesky nature, I love him so much.

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

1 thought on “Living the Cat Life”

Leave a Reply

