Book Review: Stardust

ME I just read Stardust by Neil Gaiman in less than a week. Which was much better than the year+ it took me to finish Neverwhere. I think the big difference between the two books, because both have amazing description and really transported me into his worlds, was the main characters.

I had a hard time connecting with Richard in Neverwhere, because, while it was clear what he wanted, he was a whiny beotch throughout most of the story. Things happened to him, and he happened to make it through.

Tristran in Stardust seemed a much stronger character, with more obvious growth throughout the story. He knew what he wanted, and he actively fought for it against all odds. His journey was much more emotionally rewarding for me as I travelled alongside him.

Gaiman’s descriptions touched the senses and brought Faerie to life, making it seem like a real place. It was fun, and wonderous, and dangerous. There were twists that took me by surprise and made it a delightful journey.

All in all, I give this book a 4/5 Book Hangover rating.

Author: rsgreenfield

I was born and raised and still live in Central NY with my husband and our son. Despite having lived here my whole life, I still barely tolerate the cold winters. My full name is Ryan Greenfield. My mom used to watch Ryan's Hope, and named me after the little girl on the show. I chose to use my initials as my author name, not because I feel it's a "Man's World" and I have to in order to get ahead, but because R. S. Greenfield just sounds like a fantasy author (J. R. R. Tolkien, C. S. Lewis, J. K. Rowling ...). I've been going back to school for Creative Writing, and I'm down to two semesters left. I've always loved reading, my favorite authors and inspiration being David Farland and Stephen King. In addition to writing, I also love crafting and baking. I have a creative spirit and sometimes I can’t focus on just one thing. I like to joke about having multiple muses that argue across my shoulders over what I’m going to do on any given night.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Stardust”

Leave a Reply

