A Geeky Inheritance

Upon the announcement of a friend’s pregnancy, I find that I’m finally hearing the infamous ticking of the biological clock. My own parents had children early in their twenties and if I started soon, I’d be the same age as my mother-in-law was when she had her first child. For the longest time I was terrified of childbirth and the fragility of infants, but perhaps the instincts are finally kicking in and it is all I think about.

The best part about having a child is that I have the opportunity to share almost everything that I love with my potential baby. Being a geek sometimes means that you love some childish things. My kids will grow up not only watching Nickelodeon, but Studio Ghibli movies. They will have a chance to enter their fantastical worlds and learn such important life lessons like how to really believe in yourself and to respect the fragility of life. As a pretty frugal person, I’ve put off purchasing the movies for too long. Now, I’m snatching them up wherever I can find them for when the day comes that I can watch them with my children.

As a reader and a writer, I’m always thinking about stories and books. Sure, children’s illustrated books are amazing, especially Dr. Seuss, but I have other titles in mind. When I was in third grade my favorite teacher often read book aloud to the class. She read us books like The Chronicles of Narnia and Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of Nimh. I know it will be a long time before I can read them to my children, but the books will be waiting patiently for when the day comes.

Okay, so maybe my kids won’t be touching most of my bookshelves until their twenties, but there are stacks and stacks of comic books just beckoning for hungry readers. They will be swept into worlds where everyday people become heroes and face everyday problems. They will know the Wonder Woman that smiles in the face of adversity or the Teen Titans that learn to accept each person for their differences.

I think that I inherited much of my geekiness from my father in the same way. Both my brother and I would stay up late in our bouncers to watch him play games on the Super Nintendo. Later in life, we would watch cartoons like Dragonball and Thunder Cats with him, leading us into Spiderman and X-Men. He paved the way for me so that I could fall in love with comics and videogames much like a gateway drug.

Sometimes being a geek is a lot more than obsessing about the cute Eleventh Doctor is or about how Michael Bay blows everything up. It can be about the hard lessons of life. It can about defining yourself and your morals. It can be about sharing the things that you love the most with the people that you love the most.

I’m hoping that I can raise little geeks.

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

Leave a Reply

