Those Horrific Family Traditions

As the summer season winds down, I’m always eagerly looking forward to Fall. It means colorful trees, apple cider, pumpkin flavored everything, my birthday, and my favorite holiday of the year. Yeah, I’m talking about Halloween.

Trick or treating was one of my favorite things to do as a kid. It was a tradition that I held onto well into my teens, even past graduation. I come from an area of New York that is simply beautiful. Being released into the small, pretty towns while the sun was down and the stars were out felt wild and fantastical. I was a witch more times than I could count, a costume that slowly became who I really was. My mom was always there, carting home my pillowcase full of candy.

Over the years, trick or treating was replaced with horror movie nights with my mom. We would pick out a handful of movies at the rental store (back when they had those around) and we would stay up late into the night yelling at people in the movies, never quite afraid. Zombie movies were our favorites, paranormal movies coming to a close second. I remember watching the Dawn of the Dead reboot, spending more time talking about what we would do in that situation than watching the movie. Or, the time we attemtped to watch Saw and my dad decided to slam on our living room window in the middle of the night. That was the end of that movie.

While mom likes the hacker/slasher movies, it was where I drew the line. It turns out that I can’t see gore, but I can read it and I love it. When I started reading more adult books, I gravitated towards the horror section. I picked up authors like Kim Harrison and Laurell K. Hamilton. Later on, I shared them with my mom and now we can talk about the stories like they were real events. I love it so much that I write horror novels that I hope to share with her someday.

Because of my mom I love all things halloween and horror. It connects me to her even though we’ve been on opposite sides of the country over this past year. My halloween might include horror movies this year, but I’m looking forward to the day that I can take my little one trick or treating. I want to watch them dress up as the things they wish they could be. I want to, hopefully, share the same love with them in their later years that my mom shared with me.

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

Leave a Reply

