This Girl Getting Her Ghibli On

As you’ve probably guessed, I’m not a really big Disney fan. Instead, when it comes to children’s movies with really great messages I turn to Studio Ghibli. (Yes, I realize that they work in conjunction with Disney). I am in love and currently obsessed with Ghibli movies, even though I haven’t seen all of them.

When I was little Kiki’s Delivery Service was one of my favorite movies. I’m a sucker for anything about witches and magic. Since then, I’ve seen Princess Mononoke, Ponyo, and My Neighbor Totoro (in that order). It was just the other night that I watched My Nieghbor Totoro alone in bed and I smiled like an idiot almost the whole time.

It is not only a great movie, but teaches us just how fragile life can be while showing that there is real magic in the world. These are movies that I plan on watching with my future children someday, sharing a piece of my own childhood with them. But that’s most likely still a ways off.

A lot of us couldn’t go to the San Diego Comic-Con, the biggest comic convention of the year. So many new things are announced exclusively at the convention and the rest of the world just has to slowly catch up through the internet. I’m sure something was announced that you’re excited about. I know that I’m excited for the online clothing store, Her Universe, announcement that they will be carrying Studio Ghibli inspired pieces.

Like the other girl’s wearing their Little Mermaid and Cinderella gear, I can walk around sporting my Kiki garb (when I get a paying job, that is). Her Universe is known for their everyday cosplay outfits and great geeky gear for girls like us, but it’s mostly superheroes with a little bit of Doctor Who and a lot of Star Wars. I love both, but I’m more of a DC Comics girl and I get enough Star Wars when people call me Leia instead of Leah.

They premiered their new line through the convention’s first fashion show. The dress that I noticed first was a Totoro inspired gown designed by Catherine Elhoffer. Its mermaid silhouette is traditionally bridal, but this is clearly not your traditional gown. Through the manipulation of silver fabric and off white tulle, they have evoked the playful spirit of Totoro. Other pieces are more day friendly wear, like tanks with a screen shot of the movie much like Disney’s popular shirts. So far, the line will be heavily influenced by My Neighbor Totoro and Kiki’s Delivery Service.

I am so freaking down for the Studio Ghibli collaboration that I’m mentally setting aside future birthday money and income to wear a piece of my childhood. Miyazaki, the writer of many Studio Ghibli movies, has announced his retirement and the company itself is taking a break to reconfigure their production team after this. It saddens me that he’s leaving, but I really hope to catch up on what Studio Ghibli has done and to see what they have next for me.

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

Leave a Reply

