Fueled by a Literary Desire

The hubby and I both woke well before the alarm went off this morning, but we weren’t upset. The rescue dog that we are searching for a new home for was actually in a cuddling mood and chose to settle between us in the bed for some love. He’s a great and beautiful dog, but he’s proved to have issues with children and is so big that he pulled a muscle in my back during one of our walks. With small children in our cramped neighborhood and plans of having children in the future, something had to be done. We’re going to miss him greatly, but we don’t have what he needs.

Both of us are already trying to fill the void in anticipation. My hubby plans on filling it with cats, kittens to be exact. While I like the sounds of it, I have other things occupying my mind. While lying in bed with the two of them, I was thinking about my new fascination with subscription boxes. They’re popping up everywhere, filled with ingredients for haute cuisine or geeky gadgets and toys. Without my own income, I haven’t been able to try any of them out. That hasn’t stopped me from looking, though.

But I realized that there was something missing from the subscription box market.

What about us librarian and writer types? What kind of boxes are there for those in love with everything literary? I want a box filled with sweet journals, date-books, pens and pencils, shower note-pads (something I’ve decided is crucial for creative types), and fun novelties. I want a box that has writing prompts and story dice sent to my door. I want fun literary themed teas and chocolates and librarian stamps.

I do realize that by putting this idea out there on my blog that someone else can come around and scoop it up. It would happen anyway; I’m sure I’m not the first to come up with this idea. But would it be worth setting up a Kickstarter? With a bit of clever math and fun planning/design I could figure out what it would really take to get the ball rolling on a literary subscription box.

My question is would you subscribe to my box? Would you pledge a donation to my Kickstarter? If this idea fills you with a sudden desire, then drop me a comment on your thoughts and suggestions.

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

1 thought on “Fueled by a Literary Desire”

  1. Of course!!!! Most of them have started using the computer, but there are a few left that still like the touch and feel of writing/ jotting notes on a paper! I am one of the almost extinct kind =) so, bring it on! I am sure people would love to subscribe to it.

Leave a Reply

