Enhancing the Game

The internet has opened up a lot of doorways in the matter of communication. You can connect and share with people around the world with just a click of the mouse. For roleplayers, this has opened up new avenues for gaming.

 Websites like Playbyweb.com allow users to join or create games and play-by-post with people from around the world. Roll20.net connects you in real time and has tools for using maps and videochat with each other while gaming.

 Something my gaming group has started doing is, between sessions, we use Facebook chat to role-play scenes between characters that enhance the story and character development. It started with a couple of us wanting to re-do a scene that had happened in game, but had been kind of rushed due to time. We thought it could have been much better so we fixed it.

 Since then, we’ve continued running scene in downtimes for conversations. Our characters have really come to life and it’s given our games a deeper level of enjoyment.

This was that first scene that started it all, between Rick King’s character and mine:

***

As the light from her sword cuts through the darkness, Meilee’s not just covered in blood, but singed from rushing headlong through Artimus’ stormcage.

As soon as she sees Artimus, she drops to her knees next to him, patting out any flames and checking to make sure there aren’t any stab wounds or scratches from the poisoned blades.

“Are you ok?” she asks with a panicked look in her eyes, different from the fear of the dark she usually has.

Artimus looks around obviously confused as to what’s going on. “I think so…..”. He obviously is still drunk, his eyes blood shot from lack of sleep. The adrenaline of the moment clearing his fogged brain. “You ran through darkness and fire to save me?” He sits up looking at her. His green eyes trying to hide the things he cannot say. “Thank you.” He quickly looks away at the damage he caused. “I was supposed to meet Alernon here, but it looks like I missed him.”

Meilee sits back on her heels and nods. “Of course,” she replies, not able to say more for the lump forming in her throat. She could smell the alcohol in his breath. She looks around the room, her eyes lingering on the bodies of the mages. Her hands, resting on her thighs, clench into fists as she tries not to imagine Artimus lying there.

“I knew one day you’d beat the darkness. I had hoped I’d be able to help… just not like this.” He gives an awkward chuckle. “My head feels like it was stepped on.” He stands up slowly, offering his hand to help her up to her feet. “We’d better check in with the others and make sure they are OK.” It dawns on him he never made sure she was OK. Looking her over, before looking in her eyes. “You are OK, aren’t you?” His question implying more than just the current situation.

She takes his hand and lets him help her up. She blushes under his gaze and looks away before replying, “Yeah. I’m OK.” She cleans her sword and sheaths it to avoid his eyes.

He watches her; the blush, the avoiding eyes. “I…” He sighs, not sure what to say.

“Was it actually Alernon that contacted you, or do you think it was a set-up?” She’s obviously changing the subject.

He glances at her, aware of the change, walking over to the table near two dead wizards. “He was here. He left me this. Directions on how to fix the Mythals.” He moves back next to her, looking at her like it might be the last time he does. He reaches out, gently tucking a strand of hair back behind her ear, as the magic of prestidigitation erases the signs of battle on her skin and clothing.

Meilee closes her eyes and sighs. “Artimus…” she starts softly, looking up into his eyes, searching. “I…” She clenches her teeth and turns away to check on Belgos.

For a brief moment it’s all there in his eyes. The love that he could never find the time to mention, the love he buried for the greater good. But as quick as it appears its gone again, buried back down. He watches as she turns away to Belgos whispering, “I know. Me too.” Turning in the other direction he leaves them there, taking Alernon’s notes with him.

Author: rsgreenfield

I was born and raised and still live in Central NY with my husband and our son. Despite having lived here my whole life, I still barely tolerate the cold winters. My full name is Ryan Greenfield. My mom used to watch Ryan's Hope, and named me after the little girl on the show. I chose to use my initials as my author name, not because I feel it's a "Man's World" and I have to in order to get ahead, but because R. S. Greenfield just sounds like a fantasy author (J. R. R. Tolkien, C. S. Lewis, J. K. Rowling ...). I've been going back to school for Creative Writing, and I'm down to two semesters left. I've always loved reading, my favorite authors and inspiration being David Farland and Stephen King. In addition to writing, I also love crafting and baking. I have a creative spirit and sometimes I can’t focus on just one thing. I like to joke about having multiple muses that argue across my shoulders over what I’m going to do on any given night.

1 thought on “Enhancing the Game”

Leave a Reply

