What My Year Might Look Like

My level of geek excitement is through the roof today.

Struggling to recover from a hangover today, I was killing time looking up conventions in my area and I got to talking to my hubby. A while back his mom had suggested Baltimore Comic-Con, happening in September this year. I went about my life thinking that it was just a suggestion and not going to be a reality for us. Apparently, I was wrong.

(Insert attempt at a happy dance here).

He was waiting for ticket prices to go down, but I think that months in advance will be our best bet. Neither of us has ever been to a convention. San Diego was out of our travel radius when we were stationed in California. I had been contemplating going before I made the move out there, imagining it as our version of a honeymoon since we had recently tied the knot. I didn’t know about his travel restrictions or exactly how far away it would be.

The Baltimore Convention Center, on the other hand, is roughly a half hour away from us. I’m not the biggest fan of city travel, but I am more than willing to take a chill pill and deal with it. I did manage to travel through the Rocky Mountains during a white-out (albeit, I was the passenger).

I mean, we’re talking about my first ever comic convention here! When we were first dating, a lot of our time spent together was hitting up the local comic shop and reading our finds over a cheap lunch out. This just feels like a natural progression for our relationship. And to make things even sweeter, my birthday is in September. Happy Birthday to me!

Feeling my hangover start to recede, I went back to perusing the internet for events. That was when I remembered coming across Faerie-Con. In love with all things Seelie, Unseelie, and fantastical that sounded like it was right up my alley. And I’m now convinced that it is.

The thing that really caught my eye was the mention of author Charles De Lint. If I could meet him in person I’d probably act like one of those senseless Beliebers. My love for his work runs that deep and for me to admire a male author that much means a lot. The characters, worlds, and stories that he has written are wildly fantastical and always leave me with a deep sense of fulfillment and enlightenment afterward. It is a religious experience for me.

But, that wasn’t a name that I saw in the list for this year’s convention. Instead, I saw another name that sent me through the roof. Tamora Pierce wrote books like Song of the Lioness series and Trickster’s Choice. I haven’t read all of her books like my BFF has, but as I was growing up she was the queen of Sheroes. Almost all of her protagonists were young women taking on huge tasks and rebelling against gender standards in her fantastical world. I started with the Trickster’s Choice books, about a young girl who wanted to become a spy and is later kidnapped and sold as a slave in a land of turmoil. Then I moved into The Immortals, about a parentless child with the ability to take the shape of any animal and turns out to have a god for a father. Pierce is one of the reasons that I want to be an author in the first place. Meeting one of my childhood heroes will be priceless.

The hubby wasn’t all that enthused about the idea, but I have time to win him over and a wing-girl already. If the weather cooperates in November, an old friend and I will be getting dressed up and making our way to Faerie-Con East this fall (after a particularly bad accident I’m terrified of driving in the snow). I hope that we can all look forward to posts and photos of my adventures later this year.

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

Leave a Reply

