Owning up to the Truth of the Matter

I’ve been lying to myself a lot lately.

I’ve been pretending at normalcy when it’s obvious that I’m not “normal”, whatever that really is. I moved everything from storage into our new home and one look at my desk and bookcase opened my eyes. The truth of the matter is that I am actually a really big geek.

Because my husband and I have been moving around a lot, all of my books have been in storage for up to a year and a half now. It broke my heart to pack them away and I still think there might be another box of books hiding somewhere in my mother-in-law’s basement. But what I have now overflows my new five shelf bookcase onto the floor around it and into the windowsill.

The sturdiest shelves are dedicated to my Laurell K Hamilton and Kim Harrison collection only because there wasn’t enough room to add my Patricia Briggs collection to it. On the lower shelves are the hubby’s and my Tolkien collection alongside my fantasy art books and writing books. That’s not even counting George RR Martin in the window pane or the comic books filling the space behind our couch.

To make matters even worse, (or, I should say better), my desk started off with only one wedding photo but has now evolved to host my Catbug, Oshawott, and Fiona Funko toy. Underneath the desk, still waiting to be hung up, is my black and white photo of Linda Carter as Wonder Woman.

I am a great big geek.

But that raises a new question. Why am I trying to hide it?

Honestly, I flaunt quite a bit of my geekery, but not all of it. I’m afraid of this stigma that I thought I would have to carry. I was afraid of being that unsociable geek girl with questionable self esteem. There were things that I wouldn’t even try because of that stigma.

I’m sorry, my fellow geek girls. Everything I thought wasn’t true and I can see that now. Now I’m not afraid to say that I used to play Magic the Gathering or Dungeons and Dragons. I’ve even tried my hand at being the Dungeon Master recently. And everyone already knows that my first tattoo was the classic Wonder Woman title.

And it’s about time for a change in my life. From here on out I want to reminisce about how I first discovered my geeky fascinations and post my reviews on movies, books, games, and geeky fashions and invite my fellow girlfriends to do the same.

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

2 thoughts on “Owning up to the Truth of the Matter”

    1. I’ve had a lot of problems with my own self esteem as I was growing up. I didn’t want to be that girl again and always tied it to my geekiness. Only recently have I separated the two and realized that I should be true to myself.

Leave a Reply

